Diet

A gluten-free diet

Gluten-Free Foods
Written by Heifoo Blogger


A gluten-free diet – A dietitian will help you adjust to your new diet without gluten when you are first diagnosed with coeliac disease. Additionally, they can ensure that your diet contains all of the nutrients you require. A gluten-free diet
A dietitian will help you adjust to your new diet without gluten when you are first diagnosed with coeliac disease. Additionally, they can ensure that your diet contains all of the nutrients you require.

You will be unable to consume foods containing barley, rye, or wheat, such as farina, semolina, durum, cous cous, and spelt, if you suffer from coeliac disease.

If one consumes even a small amount of gluten, such as a spoonful of pasta, one may experience very unpleasant intestinal symptoms. You may also be more likely to develop complications, such as osteoporosis and certain types of cancer, if you continue to consume gluten regularly.

Learn more about the complications of coeliac disease.

It is not necessary to consume gluten in your diet; other foods can replace it. Several gluten-free versions of common foods are available at supermarkets and health food stores, including pasta, pizza bases, and bread. Some general practitioners may prescribe bread and bread mixes.

You can still consume many foods, such as meat, vegetables, cheese, potatoes and rice, that are naturally gluten-free. Dietitians can help you identify which foods are safe to consume and which are not. If you are uncertain, you can use the following lists as a general guide.

Gluten containing foods (unhealthy to consume)
If you suffer from coeliac disease, you should not consume the following foods, unless they are marked as gluten-free:

bread
pasta
cereals
crackers or biscuits
baked goods
pies
gravies and sauces

It is important to always read the labels of the foods you purchase. Many foods (particularly processed foods) contain additives that contain gluten, such as malt flavouring and modified food starch.

Other non-food products containing gluten include lipstick, postage stamps, and some medicines.

It is possible to cross-contaminate gluten-free foods with gluten-containing foods if they are prepared together or served with the same utensils.

*Gluten-free products (safe for consumption)
When you have coeliac disease, you can eat the following foods, which are naturally gluten-free:

milk, cheese, butter, and most dairy products
fruits and vegetables
meat and fish
potatoes
rice and rice noodles
Rice, corn, soy, and potato flours are gluten-free
As a matter of law, gluten-free foods may not contain more than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten.

These trace amounts of gluten will not be harmful to most individuals with coeliac disease. Nevertheless, a small number of people cannot tolerate even trace amounts of gluten and must follow a diet that is free of grains.

Coeliac UK provides more information about shopping for gluten-free foods, and offers advice on living a gluten-free lifestyle.

Oats


Although oats do not contain gluten, many coeliacs avoid eating them as they can become contaminated with other cereals that contain gluten.

In addition, there is some evidence to suggest that a very small number of people may still be sensitive to products that are gluten-free and do not contain contaminated oats. Due to the presence of a protein called avenin in oats, it is suitable for most people with coeliac disease, however, a few people may experience symptoms.

In the event that you decide, after discussing this with your healthcare provider, to include oats in your diet, make sure that the oats are pure and that they are not contaminated with gluten.

Until your gluten-free diet has fully taken effect and your symptoms have been resolved, you should avoid eating oats. You can gradually reintroduce oats into your diet once you are free of symptoms. If you get symptoms again, don’t eat oats.

References :

https://www.mayoclinic.org/

About the author

Heifoo Blogger

Leave a Comment